The King Edward Hall was again the venue of a very successful Lindfield Horticulture Society Flower and Produce Autumn Show. The colour provided by the flowers on show there and in the Jubilee Room was a sight to behold and the large amount of produce and handicraft displayed was of the highest standard,

Visitors to the Show voted Jenny Purdon’s display in the inaugural One Hour Imposed Flower Arrangement competition.



All the exhibitors, including the following prize winners should be congratulated for yet again making the Newcombe Hall look so spectacular:-

Andrea Fall - The Bob Lacey Salver
Tim Richardson - The Massey-Dawson Cup
Tim Richardson - The Helena Hall Cup
Michael Figg - The Dahlia Members Cup
Tim Richardson - The Huddart Cup
Rolf Lloyd-Williams - The President’s Salver
Michael Figg - The Dahlia Championship Cup
Jacqui Essen - The Penny Cup
Jean Sedgley - The Harry Tester Cup
Eleanor Anderson - LHS Junior Cup
Ian Cooper - The LHS Pumpkin Cup
Michael Elliott - The Peter Day Cup (recently presented to the LHS by Peter’s widow.

I am one of many members with fond memories of Peter Day who was, for many years, a loyal and hard working member of the LHS and its Committee I would like to record the appreciation and thanks of the committee to his wife Katherine who has sponsored the Peter Day Cup and class in his memory and Michael was its first winner.


The Best in Show winners were:

Tim Richardson - Vegetables
Richard Watson - fruit
Janis Dyer - Handicraft
Jocasta Fearn and Debbie Anscombe jointly for their cookery exhibits

The LHS Annual Cups/Awards (full details of which appear in the Annual Schedule) for accumulated results during all the 2017 Shows went to:-

Debbie Anscombe -The Lady Wilkinson Silver Tray
Maureen Manley - The Morecombe White Cup
Jean Sedgley - The Proctor Cup
Ian Cooper - The Shepherd Cup
Andrew Harding - The Ron Pickett Trophy
Florence Fearn-Hughes -.The LHS Junior Perpetual Shield


The show would not have been such a success without the many volunteers and I would like to record my thanks to them all on behalf of the LHS committee.

Chris Gurr